So It’s Been Awhile…

I know it’s been a really long time since I’ve updated this blog, but it turns out it gets a few hits every now and then.  I started graduate school in the fall and found very little time to do any coding, which was quite unfortunate.  However, I did start working on a few new things and have some good ideas for improving CBase Chess.

First of all, I’ve decided to try and make my board UI code more flexible.  As it stands in CBase Chess, the board allows replay of games but not entering moves.  The original code actually supports user interaction, but for the purposes of reviewing games, the property allowing user interaction was set to not accept touches on the iPhone.  I didn’t like the amount of work it took to use my board, and I decided it was too coupled with the backend code; therefore, I decided to start working on an open-source implementation of a graphical board interface which will hopefully prove useful for both me and anybody else interested in programming chess for the iPhone / iPod touch.  I will post code up on sourceforge sometime before school starts back up in January.

Secondly, I’m working on a rewrite of the internals of how chess positions and games are stored in memory in order to have more decoupled code.  Furthermore, the code is being developed to allow generic searching of games, so that CBase can have a more in-depth search feature than just by player.

Finally, I’m looking at using the open-source ZipArchive to unzip new PGN files from The Week In Chess (TWIC) and add them to the list of databases in CBase.

Hopefully I will have plenty of time to work on app development during our month-long winter break, and would love to be able to submit an updated version of CBase by mid-January.

This entry was posted in Chess, iPhone. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to So It’s Been Awhile…

  1. Fernando Salamero says:

    What about iPad support? Will be awesome!

  2. Bob Wesley says:

    Looking forward to the update. CBase is a nice contribution to what is available on iPhone, and it has a lot of potential!

    Thank you

  3. veronica says:

    Hi,
    I was looking for a decent library to parse PGN games. Until now I haven’t found anything decent that supports also annotation and recursive variations. I was looking for something in c/c++ and started rolling my own but it’s a lot of work. I wonder if you could provide the source code of your PGN parsing library. Even if it is written in objective-c it could be helpful since a port to c++ should be straightforward. Do you have any plan to release the source code for PGN?
    Cheers,
    Veronica

  4. mickeith says:

    Thank You very much for the app, I find it very useful.
    But there is a problem:
    I’m spanish, and so when the name of a player contains the letter “ñ” or has an ortographic accent (García), the app shows “null” in the player name and its impossible to see the game as the app close.
    Thanks for solving it.

  5. Baz says:

    Great app, with lots of potential! There’s just this one thing I noticed. I have several databases with games (or rather positions) that don’t start with move 1 (for example, a pgn with all examples from Capablanca’s Chess fundamentals). In the pgn file, FEN codes are included with the starting positions. Unfortunately, these are not correctly represented. Could that be addressed in an update? That would be absolutely wonderful!!

    • iphonechess says:

      I would love to update – unfortunately I haven’t had any time to work on my app with school and now I’m doing full time work as an iOS developer at another company. If I ever get the time to do an update, FEN codes will definitely be supported.

Leave a Reply

